Prime Day 2018 Starts July 16th

Send to Kindle

This year’s Prime Day starts at 3pm EDT (2pm CDT, 1pm MDT, noon PDT — or more descriptively, Amazon Daylight Time), and features an epic day (and a half — or 36 hours total) of awesome deals. These deals are exclusively for Prime Members, so if you don’t already have Amazon Prime, sign up now! for fast, free shipping on over 100 million eligible items. Plus popular movies and TV shows (even better with Fire Stick!) and several thousand on-demand ad-free songs and playlists from Amazon Music. Oh, and there’s more… Like early access to Amazon Lightning Deals and a cash-back Amazon credit card.

If you are already a Prime member, you don’t have to wait for Prime Day to get some great deals — for instance, here are some that I found to be especially interesting:

Echo Show

Echo Show ($100 discount now through Prime Day) brings you everything you love about Alexa, and now she can show you things. Watch video flash briefings, Amazon Video content, see music lyrics, security cameras, photos, weather forecasts, to-do and shopping lists, browse and listen to Audible audiobooks, and more. All hands-free—just ask.

Seagate STGX4000400 Portable 4TB External Hard Drive USB 3.0

For $120, you can organize and store your files in this slim, stylish portable hard drive that expands the capacity of your computer with 4TB of additional storage. You can get “expert installation” (which, I presume, involves some local teenage geek coming into your house or place of business and plugging it in for you) for “only” $64 more. Personally, I’d pass on “expert installation” for this — if you can’t figure out how to plug in a USB drive, you probably should skip this deal completely…

Note that you will also need a USB 3.0 micro cable (it should be obvious which type to get just from looking at that image above), which, if you don’t already have several lying around, you can get here.

You know, every time I see a deal like this, I think about that time 25 years ago that my new bride (Mrs. Amazopia) was terrified that I might actually spend $850 on a ONE GIGABYTE hard drive…

BOXLOCK

Here’s something that (in my not-so-humble opinion) definitely beats giving the UPS guy the ability to unlock your front door (and either set off your house alarm — or worse, forget to re-arm it). It’s the first Smart Padlock to protect Amazon deliveries. Of course, you also need to get (or build) some sort of container to put on your front porch — and mount it in some way that will prevent thieves from just taking the whole container. But it’s better than worrying about your Amazon deliveries. Personally, I rent a private mail box — which costs more than this $130 wifi-enabled padlock, and a PMB is arguably less convenient, but I also use it for other things.

But wait, there’s MORE!

…of course, there are lots more specials on Amazon (for Prime members) for the run-up to Prime Day. But I can hardly wait for the Big Day itself.